VERITOPIA Sword In Stone

Alchemy &

The Four Aims of Hinduism

In Hinduism there is the idea that a human life goes through four-stages of desire. The pattern described fits the FAWE perfectly, and so adds to the evidence of it being universal. I'm not that familiar with Hinduism. If you are, and would be interested in helping find other aspects of the Universal-Plan within it, please get in touch.

Note, here the Earth element is first, and Fire last because we're tracing out a life-plan from childhood to old age, and we begin life as Yin: Immature, Dependant, Nescient, etc...

It seems Hindus place these in a different order to the one I propose, but I think this is the logical order, and I'd be happy to discuss it.

The four Hindu 'Aims of Life', and how I think they fit into the FAWE:

Fire Earth Creation, Belonging, Object Kama
Stage 1: Physical Pleasures
Focus: comfort, food, entertainment, and at the end of this stage - sex. All of which which drives us to the next level.

Earth is Yin/Yin. It is the selfish & unroductive stage of life - as when we are children.
Children are needy and dependent, self-centered, and pleasure-oriented. This is natural, and appropriate. (Note: Children are Yin on the outside (to adults), so they are Yang on the inside - active & changing, full of life.)

Sex In the Universal-Plan, the 'creation center' of 'Sex' lies between Earth and Water.
This suggests that we transform from the Earth to the Water stage through the existence of Sex/Reproduction
The prospect and/or results of sex lead to the desire to gain social status / wealth...
Fire Water Action, Motion, Power Artha
Stage 2: Material Gain
Focus: status/wealth, and sex. Children are the result, which drives us to the next level.

Water signifies Action & Emotion and People. It's when we become a young-adult.
At this stage we are still quite selfish, focussed on getting the things we want, and now we have the power to acheive it.
The result of this stage is naturally, a family. And family drives us to the next level...

Heart In the Universal-Plan, the 'creation center' of 'Heart' lies between Water and Air.
It is a mirror, just as water in air reflects light. And our children are a reflection of ourselves...
The Heart of life is the reflection of ourselves which is our children, it is the family, and it leads to the desire to provide good things.
Fire Air Design, Plan, Path, Law Dharma
Stage 3: Duty
Focus: Duty of care to one's family, driven by Love.

Air signifies Law or Design. It's when we become a parent, and embrace the responsibility.
At this stage, if one fulfills their Dharma, the inward-focus of selfishness is transformed by the trials of family-life, into the outward-focus of empathy.
The result of this stage is the transformation of the ego into empathy & Love for others.

Voice In the Universal-Plan, the 'creation center' of 'Voice' lies between Air and Fire.
It represents Choice and Logic. It's the question "Which?".
It represents self-mastery, integrity, and reason: The ability to choose.
Fire Fire Will, Intent, Desire Mashka
Stage 4: Liberation
Focus: Spiritual Hygeine. (My own term)

Fire signifies Will. It's when our will and actions are united, and we become truly free to choose.
When immature, we're driven by Yin emotion which makes our choices for us. When mature, emotions inform logic, and logic chooses.
The lessons of life teach us that our emotions can't be allowed to rule over reason.
We begin to truly be able to think clearly, and make informed choices.
Our Will becomes single - as we focus on complete mastery over the Yin-mind - so we can escape the wheel of incarnation.

I think this is pretty amazing, even beautiful... What do you think?

Next Page: In Two Minds


The site uses cookies (where available), only to remember the (optional) name you use for comments.

There's no advertising on this website.